Book Store

Death in Venice and Seven Other Stories

Death in Venice and Seven Other Stories

Death in Venice and Seven Other Stories

By Thomas Mann
Translated by H.T. Lowe-Porter

In addition to Death in Venice, this volume includes Mario and the Magician, Disorder and Early Sorrow, A Man and His Dog, Felix Krull, The Blood of the Walsungs, Tristan, and Tonio Kröger.

These stories, as direct as Thomas Mann's novels are complex, are perfect illustrations of their author's belief that "a story must tell itself." Varying in theme, in style, in tone, each is in its way characteristic of Mann's prodigious talents. From the high art of the famous title novella ("A story," said Mann, "of death...and the voluptuousness of doom"), to the irony of Felix Krull, the early story on which he later based his comic novel The Confessions of Felix Krull, they are stunning testimony to the mastery and virtuosity of a literary giant.

Thomas Mann was born in 1875 in Germany. He was only twenty-five when his first novel, Buddenbrooks, was published. In 1924, The Magic Mountain was published, and, five years later, Mann was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. Following the rise of the Nazis to power, he left Germany for good in 1933 to live in Switzerland and then in California, where he wrote Doctor Faustus (first published in the United States in 1948). Thomas Mann died in 1955. 

Also available in German.

402 pages
Random House/Vintage, 1989
5.2 x 0.7 x 8 inches
ISBN 9780679722069 
Short Story, Fiction

$14.00 $14.00