Book Store

Confessions of Felix Krull, Confidence Man (The Early Years)

Confessions of Felix Krull, Confidence Man (The Early Years)

By Thomas Mann
Translated by Denver Lindley

A rich and entertaining tale in the tradition of Cervantes and Stendhal, and one of the great picaresque novels of the 20th Century, Confessions of Felix Krull recounts the enchanted career of the con man extraordinaire Felix Krull through his childhood and early adulthood.

Unhampered by the moral precepts that govern the conduct of ordinary mortals, possessed of a formidable intelligence and striking good looks, Krull rises swiftly from poverty to affluence. Following him along the shady paths he is destined to take, the story moves through a world inhabited by bizarre characters from all strata of European society. The result is a withering commentary on human folly, as well as a delightful, often raucously funny novel of high adventure.

Thomas Mann was born in 1875 in Germany. He was only twenty-five when his first novel, Buddenbrooks, was published. In 1924, The Magic Mountain was published, and, five years later, Mann was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. Following the rise of the Nazis to power, he left Germany for good in 1933 to live in Switzerland and then in California, where he wrote Doctor Faustus (first published in the United States in 1948). Thomas Mann died in 1955.

Paperback
384 pages
Random House/Vintage
ISBN 9780679739043 

EVERY PURCHASE SUPPORTS THE NEUE GALERIE
$18.95 $18.95